Responsive CPOST Header
Header Right

Responsive CPOST Badge


Important Message Regarding Covid-19 and In-Service Training

On October 14, 2020 KSCPOST Commissioners met and determined the forty hour annual in-service training requirement will remain in effect for the 2021 annual training year (current training year).  The limit of 20 hours of annual online training will remain suspended.  Officers may submit online training beyond the twenty hour limit in the 2021 training year.  Officers may also report live zoom training as "Unclassified" training.  Recorded zoom training should be submitted as online training.

KSCPOST does not have the authority to waive, extend, or modify the annual firearms qualification requirement.  Agencies should consider their own liability in not meeting this annual requirement.  KSCPOST will not take disciplinary action regarding the annual requirement in the 2021 annual in-service training year.

Officers should continue to complete the racial or other bias-based policing training that is required and reported to the Attorney General's Office pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4610.  Those hours may be reported to satisfy the KSCPOST annual in-service training requirement.


Updated Demographic Form

KSCPOST has updated the Demographic and Employment Information form. You can find this form under the "Report Forms" and "Central Registry Forms" page. Please click on the "Refresh" button in your browser or press the F5 key on your keyboard to refresh the webpage.


Executive Director Doug Schroeder Welcome Picture

Greetings! I am Doug Schroeder, and I am thrilled to have recently been appointed the Executive Director of the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers' Standards and Training (KS-CPOST). After 20 years serving as a Chief of Police, I recognize the importance of well trained, capable and compassionate law enforcement officers in our communities. The Commission is here to serve Chiefs, Sheriffs and Directors in the pursuit of excellence. I look forward to working with law enforcement administrators from across the state.


We wish the best for the previous KSCPOST Executive Director, Gary Steed, in retirement. His contributions to KSCPOST and the law enforcement community cannot be overstated.


Darren Retirement Group Picture

The Kansas law enforcement community and KSCPOST will miss the expertise of Investigator Darren Moore. Darren left his KSCPOST employment after five years of outstanding service. Darren intends to chase grandkids instead of law enforcement officers. The KSCPOST staff is pictured above at Darren's reception.


Kathy and Director Steed Retirement Picture
KSCPOST Team Retirement Picture

A reception was held on May 3, 2017 for Kathy Green.  Kathy began employment at KSCPOST in 2012 and retires in 2017.  While the plaque is from KSCPOST, Director Steed presented it on behalf of a grateful Kansas law enforcement community for her 5 years of very professional service.


The new Central Registry is now online and ready for training entry. Previous users should have received an email with their login information. An updated training program will be developed for new users to register for training entry. Please check back for continued updates.


KPOA Lifetime Members

Eudora Police Chief Bill Edwards and KSCPOST Executive Director Gary Steed were honored this week with election to Life Membership in the Kansas Peace Officers Association


Commissioner Keller receives plaque from KSCPOSTCommissioner Sage receives plaque from KSCPOST

The photos above show Andover Chief Mike Keller and former Rose Hill Chief Robert Sage accepting service plaques, presented on behalf of a grateful Kansas law enforcement community, for their service as KS-CPOST Commissioners.

Sage photo courtesy of the Butler County Times Gazette


KPAS 2016

Executive Director Gary Steed  talked about KSCPOST with the next generation of Kansas law enforcement leadership during the Kansas Police Administrator’s Seminar (KPAS).  The program prepares participants to serve in command positions and is sponsored by the Kansas Association of Chiefs of Police (KACP).


In-Service Training Report Forms

In accordance with the In-Service Training Guidelines that state that all training must “be approved in advance by the agency head or the agency head’s designee,” the KSCPOST Training Report forms have been updated. All forms are to be signed by the agency head or the agency head’s designee.


KSCPOST Commission Meeting

KSCPOST Commissioners conducted their annual meeting at KLETC on 8-31-2015.  Pictured are Commission Chair John Whitmer, KLETC Director Ed Pavey, and KSCPOST Executive Director Gary Steed


Commissioner Bush Retires

This week Executive Director Gary Steed had the honor and pleasure of presenting a KSCPOST service plaque to retiring Ford County Sheriff Dean Bush. Sheriff Bush served five years as a Commissioner and Hearing Committee member. He was an outstanding Commissioner, great Sheriff and a better friend. His work on the Commission will have a positive lasting impact on the law enforcement profession and the citizens of Kansas for many years into the future. Director Steed presented him with the plaque on behalf of a grateful Commission, grateful law enforcement community, and grateful Kansas community.


KSCPOST has updated the Demographic and Employment Information Form (Form CR301).  The updated form includes the Oath of Honor and the verification that the applicant meets all of the minimum requirements set forth in KSA 74-5605.  Please be aware that the Oath of Honor must be signed on or before the applicant’s date of employment as a law enforcement officer.  For more information, please click here.  The updated form and a letter of explanation has also been sent to all active Kansas law enforcement agencies through the mail.


Integrity Bulletins page was added to the website under the "Other Info" option. January 2014 Integrity Bulletin is now available for viewing.


Gary Steed Award Picture

Executive Director Gary Steed is  proud and humbled to be named the Wichita Crime Commission Criminal Justice Professional of the year.  Director Steed commented that the recognition is possible only because of the  quality of work of the staff at KSCPOST.


KSCPOST now has an email list for important updates. If you wish to subscribe, please click the link on the top of the page.


Updated forms added to the "Forms" page.

Commission Members page updated to show Commissioner Robert Sage and Commissioner Melissa Johnson appointed March 6th, 2012.


New Commisson Chairperson John Whitmer added to the Commission Members page.


New Commission Chairperson David Moses added to the Commission Members page.


Verification of Eligibility for Certification, Oath of Honor, and updated Notice of Termination or Status Change forms now available on the Forms page.

Kansas Administrative Regulations added under the "Certification" portion of the website.


New Commissioners Sheriff Herman Jones of the Shawnee County Sheriff's Office and Director Bradley Schoen of the Riley County Police Department were added to the "Commission Members" page.


New meeting minutes added for years 2012, 2011 and 2007 on the "Commission Meeting MInutes" page.

Links to training resources added to the Related Links page.

If you have any questions or comments, please email or call (316) 832-9906.